CLRTY vs I Am Sober: an honest comparison.
I Am Sober is made by I Am Sober LLC (10M+ installs, about 4.7★). In their own words: Privacy is fundamental to sobriety.
Both apps help people quit. They make different trade-offs on accounts, data and price — here's the side-by-side, so you can pick the one that fits.
Researched October 11, 2026 by Christopher Kopf, founder of CLRTY, from I Am Sober's public website, store listing and privacy policy. Anything we couldn't confirm is labeled unverified or not publicly disclosed. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.
| CLRTY | I Am Sober | |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | Android (iOS coming next) | iOS + Android |
| Price | Free $0 · Premium $6.99/mo or $39.99/yr (2-month trial on yearly) | Free · Sober Plus $9.99/mo or $39.99/yr (7-day trial) |
| Account required | No — none exists | Yes — you declare your addiction to unlock the withdrawal timeline |
| Where your data lives | On your device only | Cloud via AWS. Free-tier data lives on the phone only; cloud backup is paywalled. Their FAQ: “Without an account and cloud backup, your sobriety data lives only on your phone.” |
| Analytics / tracking SDKs in the app | None | Privacy policy names Google Analytics, PostHog and RevenueCat, and says device IDs and app interactions are shared |
| Ads | None | No ad partners named; no ads reported |
| Works offline | Fully (only the AI Coach needs internet) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Habits supported | 20+ presets plus custom | Any addiction — alcohol, drugs, smoking, eating disorders, self-harm and more |
Pick I Am Sober if…
You want a very large, established community, iPhone support today, and cloud backup that follows you across devices.
Pick CLRTY if…
You don't want an account, you'd rather no analytics SDKs run inside your recovery app, and you want structured taper plans across 20+ habits.
Questions people ask
Is I Am Sober free?
Yes, there's a free tier. Sober Plus costs $9.99/month or $39.99/year with a 7-day trial. CLRTY's Premium is $6.99/month or $39.99/year with a 2-month trial on yearly; CLRTY's core tracker is free.
Does I Am Sober require an account?
Yes. You create an account and declare your addiction to unlock the withdrawal timeline. CLRTY has no account system at all.
Where does I Am Sober store my data?
Per their FAQ, free-tier data lives only on your phone; cloud backup (via AWS) is a paid feature. CLRTY stores everything on your device and has no cloud backup — you export a JSON file yourself if you want one.
Does I Am Sober use analytics?
Their privacy policy names Google Analytics, PostHog and RevenueCat, and describes sharing device IDs and app interactions. CLRTY's app contains no analytics SDKs (this website uses privacy-friendly analytics, the app does not).
Other comparisons: CLRTY vs Sobrius · CLRTY vs Nomo